Homage to Niemöller

Homage to Niemöller

First they came for the Arabs, and I was not concerned–
because I was not an Arab;

Then they came for the Mexicans, and I did not speak out–
I was not a Mexican, so I was not concerned;

Then they came for the queers, and I said nothing–
because I was, of course, no queer;

Then they came for the blacks, the natives, the anarchists, the Jews, all kinds of brown people, Asian migrants, and all dissidents,
and I did nothing–
because I was not any of those things.

Then they came for me–
and there was no one left

to stop them.

 

 

(~Amitai Ben-Abba, November 2016)

Leave a Reply

